Fictional But Factual Quotes


These are Neil Gaiman’s quotes and some are from his fictional books. I love them all because I believe some of them, some made me laugh, some made me realized a thing or two. Among others, I love Caroline. I hope I can watch the movie someday or I should buy a dvd copy. Neil is great. His works are bestsellers making him one of the top writers in fantasy, horror, and science-fiction comics.


♥ ♥ ♥


What’s your name,’ Coraline asked the cat. ‘Look, I’m Coraline. Okay?’
Cats don’t have names,’ it said.
No?’ said Coraline.
No,’ said the cat. ‘Now you people have names. That’s because you don’t know who you are. We know who we are, so we don’t need names.”
Coraline



“What power would hell have if those imprisoned here would not be able to dream of heaven?”
Preludes and Nocturnes



“When I was a child, adults would tell me not to make things up, warning me of what would happen if I did. As far as I can tell so far, it seems to involve lots of foreign travel and not having to get up too early in the morning.”
Smoke and Mirrors



“What I say is, a town isn’t a town without a bookstore. It may call itself a town, but unless it’s got a bookstore it knows it’s not fooling a soul.”
American Gods


“People think dreams aren’t real just because they aren’t made of matter, of particles. Dreams are real. But they are made of viewpoints, of images, of memories and puns and lost hopes.”



“This is how you do it: you sit down at the keyboard and you put one word after another until its done. It’s that easy, and that hard.”



“What power would hell have if those imprisoned here would not be able to dream of heaven?”
Preludes and Nocturnes



“Libraries are our friends”



“You get ideas from daydreaming. You get ideas from being bored. You get ideas all the time. The only difference between writers and other people is we notice when we’re doing it.”



“Lucifer protests he was never to bl
ame for inducing anyone to sin, and that he’s never had an interest in owning souls: ‘They die, and they come here – having transgressed against what they believed to be right – and expect us to fulfill their desire for pain and retribution. I don’t make them come here… I need no souls. And how can anyone own a soul? No, they belong to themselves. They just hate to have to face up to it.”

Season of Mists


“We all not only could know everything. We do. We just tell ourselves we don’t to make it all bearable.”



“Not knowing everything is all that makes it OK, sometimes… ”
The Absolute Sandman, Vol. 1


“Write your story as it needs to be written. Write it honestly and tell it as best you can. I’m not sure that there are any other rules. Not ones that matter.”



“Every lover is, in his heart, a madman, and, in his head, a minstrel.”
Stardust


“Writing is flying in dreams. When you remember. When you can. When it works. It’s that easy.”



“People want to forget the impossible. It makes their world safer.”
The Graveyard Book


“If you were to try and pick him out of a group of boys, you’d be wrong. He’d be the other one. Over at the side. The one your eye slipped over.”
Fragile Things



“There are three things, and three things only, that can lift the pain of mortality and ease the ravages of life. These are wine, women and song”
Anansi Boys


“The world seemed to shimmer a little at the edges.”
Coraline



“What kind of fun would it be if I just got everything I ever wanted?”
Coraline


“What kind of fun would it be if I just got everything I ever wanted?”
Coraline



“Not only are there no happy endings,’ she told him, ‘there aren’t even any endings.”
American Gods


“To be a good writer . . . “read alot and write every day”


“You’re a poem?’ I repeated.
She chewed her lower lip. ‘If you want. I am a poem, or I am a pattern, or a race of people whose whose world was swallowed by the sea.’
Isn’t it hard to be three things at the same time?’
What’s your name?’
Enn.’
So you are Enn,’ she said. ‘And you are a male. And you are a biped. Is it hard to be three things at the same time?”
Fragile Things


“…nobody’s seen Jesus in years.”



“Well,” he said, “f’r example, if they ask where you’ve come from, you could say ‘Behind me,’and if they asked where you’re going, you’d say ‘In front of me.”


“And there never was an apple, in Adam’s opinion, that wasn’t worth the trouble you got into for eating it. ”



“Work. Home. The pub. Meeting girls. Living in the city. Life. Is that all there is?”
Neverwhere


“Not gay, just never met the right woman.”
The Graveyard Book



♥ ♥ ♥


For vast of Neil Gaiman’s quotes, click here.